59th Annual Day and Price Distribution Ceremony

Smt. M.M.K. College of Commerce and Economics has celebrated its 59th Annual Day and Prize Distribution Function on 5th February, 2020 at Meera Watumull Auditorium, R. D. National College. The occasion was graced by Mr. Manoj Singh (Assistant Resident Commissioner Govt. of Rajasthan), Nominee of Chief Guest Hon’ble Shri. Uday Samant (Minister of Higher & Technical Education, Govt. of Maharashtra), Guest of Honor CA. Sunil Patodia (Vice District Governor, Lions Club, Mumbai), Ms. Maya Shahani (Trustee, HSNC Board), and Ms. Padma Shah (Board Member, HSNC Board).

The guests were accorded a warm traditional welcome. Junior college students dressed in various regional attire were part of the welcoming ceremony with flowers and lezim music. As guests entered the auditorium, the National Anthem was played. The programme commenced with the lighting of the lamp by the dignitaries. A musical feast was presented by a group of students. This was followed by a visual presentation showcasing the journey and major achievements of the institution from the year 1961 till today.

The Annual Report for the year 2019 – 20 was presented by Dr. CA Kishore Peshori (I/C Principal). He brought to fore the achievements of the students of the college and presented the college’s vision. The Principal’s speech was accompanied by a video presentation of activities conducted by the institution. Ms. Maya Shahani emphasized in her address that everyone should have purpose in their lives as it is the only thing that gives value and sets you to achieve success in your life. CA. Sunil Patodia gave his best wishes to the students and motivated them to attain academic excellence. Ms. Padma Shah congratulated the college on the completion of its 59th Year and reminisced on its remarkable journey.

Mr. Manoj Singh said that everyone should take the lead, start a new beginning and build a bright future with life full of fragrance and colors.  After the address of the speakers, the function continued with the felicitation of Dr. A. C. Vanjani, former principal, Mrs. Praveena Gouthaman, junior college teacher and Mrs. Devika Nakra, ex-registrar who took superannuation by presenting them a memento. The college also felicitated three staff members from non-teaching staff with silver coins for completing 25 years of service in the institution. In addition, the Best Non-teaching faculty award was also given to two non-teaching staff Mr. Abhijeet Yadav and Mr. Sandeep Vishwakarma in appreciation of their outstanding service. The event proceeded with declaring the Best Student of the Year as well as Mr. and Ms. M.M.K Star Award 2019-20 (award newly introduced from the current year). For selection purposes under this category, a panel comprising senior faculty from neighbouring Board Colleges as well as members of the Scholarship committee was constituted and was tasked with the selection of the students through a rigorous and time consuming process of evaluating the applications and conducting their interviews. A Trophy along with sash and Tiaras were presented to the Best student of the year as well as to Mr. and Ms. M.M.K Star awardees by the dignitaries. The ‘Best Reader’ scholarship was also given to a student who used the library facilities very often.

Thereafter, the function continued with distribution of scholarships which were given to meritorious students in their respective streams. Winners in various sports events and cultural events were also given medals and certificates. Students who took active participation in organising various events throughout the year under NSS, Cultural and Literary & Debate etc. were also felicitated with scholarships and certificates.

After concluding degree college scholarship, junior college students were awarded the scholarships for getting outstanding marks in various subjects. The function concluded with a vote of thanks to the chair.

1. Dr. Sandeep R. Sahu (Chairperson)
2. Ms. Asha Bhat
3. Dr. Shreekumar Menon
4. Dr. Meena Kumari Katta
5. Mr.Nitin Parab
6. Ms. Neha Parwani